top of page

Rookie Impressions of the U.S. Open

So what’s it like to play at the Minto US Open in Naples FL? What’s it like to step onto one of 44 courts with more than 2,000 players engaged in the biggest tournament that the USAPA hosts each spring?

Susan Rice and I – 2019 Minto US Open 4.0 Mixed 65+

Thrilling. Exciting. Overwhelming. It is an experience that tops my list in 22 years of playing this great game. It is a keep your head on a swivel, cause there’s always great players and play near by, not to be missed experience.

So what was it like to attend Pickleball’s grandest party? The 2019 Minto US Open was held in Naples FL. 2,000 players from professional 5.0+ to 3.0 levels comprised the 2019 field. You may have read the article (excerpted from this post) published in the HOFC newsletter, Courtside. In that article I list 2 ‘takeaways’ from my rookie, first time experience to the tournament. I’m adding a third here.

First, I have to admit to an overwhelming nervousness that never failed to join me on the court in all three of our matches. The venue is huge, 44 courts, far bigger than any place I’ve ever played before. On every court within eyesight and especially hearing (the pop-pop of dozens of paddles meeting durafast 40’s is unmistakable) are talented and experienced players. I felt a little small and frankly undeserving of the play around me. That’s nonsense of course, and my friend and partner Susan Rice continually reminded me of her faith in me and in my game. Had she not been on the court with me I’m likely to have literally shrunk away to nothingness. I’m normally laser focused in tournament play and here my attentions kept drifting away to the matches being played around me. You can’t win with that mindset and apologies to my partner, I let her down a bit. No shame in that of course, we all have bad days. It won’t happen again, I promised myself that I won’t let the ‘glitter’ of the event steal away from the primary purpose of making the trip, competing at my best level.

Second, I was reminded over and over that pickleball remains a gentle and social sport. I’m not of course talking about the lightning-fast volleys or the aggressive skillset apparent on every court. I’m talking about the fact that this is still a game where for the most part even the professionals make their own calls, demonstrate real grace in defeat and share their victories cheerfully with their defeated opponents. I spoke with more than a half dozen of the professional players that I’d interviewed for my book and they were generous with their time and seemed genuinely interested in sharing our common interest in the game.

Third, I imagine I’m not the first to regret leaving my best game back in Ohio. Too star-struck by the level of play around me, too conscious of the effect of the wind on the game, too unsure of how the games would play out strategically.

Sue Rice and I didn’t leave the court empty handed. We dropped to the loser’s bracket at the hands of last year’s Gold Medalistsin our division, playing respectably and with a measure of confidence. We won our first match in the loser’s bracket handily and then met a very solid team in our last match and bowed out of the tournament.

I wish for more level and thoughtful play, but not for a better experience. That wouldn’t be possible. It was fun!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page